CIWF Logo Food Business
Search icon

Special Recognition Awards

Special Recognition Awards are given to companies that demonstrate outstanding innovation, commitment or achievement in the field of farm animal welfare.

Farm landscape

2019 Rabbit Innovation Award

In 2019, Compassion was delighted to recognise ‘Eleveurs et Bien’ with a Rabbit Innovation Award, for developing a cage-free system for rearing rabbits for their commercial brand Lapin & Bien.  Find out more here.

2018 Special Recognition Award

Compassion was delighted to present Winterbotham Darby with the 2018 Special Recognition Award, which is kindly supported by the Sir Peter O'Sullevan Charitable Trust.

They picked up the award for developing their UKAS accredited animal welfare certification scheme which is driving welfare improvements and helping to secure cage-free commitments in the pig sector across Europe. Find out more here.

2018 Innovation and Marketing Awards

The 2018 Innovation and Marketing Awards were opened up to the Manufacturing and Food Service sectors.

The Awards recognise forward-thinking manufacturers and food service companies for the work they have done to positively impact farm animal welfare and promote higher welfare purchasing.

The 2018 Best Innovation Award went to SELEGGT in Germany for their work in helping to address the issue of killing male chicks in the egg industry. 

SELEGGT has developed an endocrinological method for identifying the sex of hatching eggs which means male eggs can be humanely rejected early before the embryo develops the capacity to feel pain. Watch the video here.

The 2018 Best Marketing Award was awarded to Dutch manufacturer Kipster for developing and marketing the ‘world’s first carbon neutral egg’. Their innovative farm has been designed to address animal welfare as well as sustainability concerns which is clearly resonating with consumers. Watch the video here.

Every two years we present our ‘Retailer Awards’ which are based on our biennial Supermarket Survey results. The next Retailer Awards will be presented at our Awards ceremony in 2021.


Other Special Recognition Awards

Read more